Christmas Street.

Since the end of November I have been shooting quite a lot of street photography in and around the European Market in Edinburgh. It’s always a good focal point for street photography during the festive period.

I quite enjoyed getting jammed in with people on busy weekend visits there, as this was a chance to get closer to subjects etc. Normally I’m not a fan of crowds like that, and I have no patience for being forced to move at a snails pace. But in this case I really enjoyed it, and went out of my way to get caught up in the crowd.

I used the Market as a focal point for trips to town, but also wandered around a lot too. I shot exclusively with the Ricoh GR, which is a great camera for street photography as it’s smaller, lighter, more discreet, and not as threatening as a DSLR might be to your subjects. Not that you shouldn’t shoot street with a DSLR, but I certainly feel less conspicuous and more relaxed with the Ricoh.

This post is pretty image heavy, but I didn’t really feel like doing it in two parts.

6

Waverly Station.

5

Princes Street.

12

Getting Into The Spirit Of Things.

15

European Market.

3

Crossing.

8

Reflection.

9

14

Band Leader.

7

Faces In The Crowd.

11

17

Girl On The Gallery Steps.

14

Just A Moment.

14

Couple.

11

18

7

Connection.

4

8

12

18

12

Old Lady On A Bus.

10

Snapper Snap.

11

9

11

Held.

Leave a Reply

