Samhuinn/Halloween, Edinburgh 2016.

The Beltane Fire Society always put on a good show, and bring a big crowd, come rain or Samhuinn. And both came last night. I should really have checked the weather forecast before going. I still would have gone, but might have been slightly better prepared. By the time I got home I was like a droont rat.

From a photography stand point, I was as much interested in the city’s people, dressed up for Halloween, as I was in the Samhuinn  Parade. That both would converge under the rain, on the streets of Auld Reekie, was fantastic.

As colourful as both were, I really wanted to remove all of that colour, almost like taking part of the costume away. Leaving a kind of brutal but beautiful strangeness, cradled by the night, in stark black and white.

37l

36l

5l

8l

13l

Up on the esplanade, the Reds were getting ready.

20l

Into The Night.

30l

17

24l

15l

10l

25l

They’ll never outfox The Fox.

27l

Leave a Reply

