Further Adventures in Infrared.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been experimenting with infrared film. Rollei Superpan 200 this time. Which isn’t true infrared, but like SFX, is infrared effect. This time I made sure to use a red filter when shooting, to maximise the effect.

3l

A rollei Superpan, please…

For comparison I also took a few shots using an IR filter on my DSLR. It has been like a kind of mini project really. I wanted to produce a series of landscape photographs taken in and around Dechmont Law in West Lothian.

I wanted something with a different feel, maybe something slightly ethereal, which was what attracted me to infrared in the first place. I also wanted to do it properly, and hoped to get the kind of effect and results that I had in mind when I had used SFX film (without a red filter) the first time a few months ago.

I was a little disappointed with that as the effect was very subtle, more so than I had expected. The were one or two woodland shots I had really liked though, which was why I wanted to do a series of woodland landscapes, shooting on infrared film, but using a red filter this time, in hope of getting closer to what I originally had in mind.

7

Rollei Superpan 200. F16, with shutter speed around 1/125th to 1/250th.

2l

DSLR with infrared filter on lens. F16, shutter speed between 10-15 seconds or so.

Looking at these images next to each other really shows the difference. The digital shot has the more eerie feel to it, whereas the Superpan is more stark, more contrasty. Also, if you notice the movement of the clouds in the background, and the grass in the foreground it shows that it must be quite a long(ish) exposure without me saying so. The reason for that of course is due to the density of the infrared filter. It’s so dark that you have to compose the shot first, then screw the filter onto the lens. Otherwise you cannot see to focus or compose. This is not the case with the film. I was using a red filter but you can see through that, and it does not necessitate a long exposure.

2016-09-27_79

Rollei Superpan 200. F16, shutter speed around the 1/60th mark, roughly.

3l

DSLR with IR filter. F11, shutter speed 25 seconds.

The difference in these two shots is particularly striking, in regard to infrared effect. With the digital filter again much more obvious. The long exposure does contribute to the overall effect, with the movement of the clouds and grass again. But the film doesn’t really show much in the way of infrared effect here at all. The images were taken a few days apart, and the weather was quite different though. When shooting the film it was overcast and still. When using the IR filter it was bright and blustery. The wind made long exposures, which were necessary as described, quite difficult. I had to wait for a lull in the wind and hope I got the shot before it picked up again.

Once again there were some images from the film I shot that I really liked, a couple of them came a little bit closer to what I had in mind, but not dramatically so. The following shots are all from those rolls.

5

I really like the sharpness and bite of the contrast in this shot.

19

This shot, taken in the same area, from a different angle, and two weeks apart, is one of my favourites.

16

The infrared effect is more apparent in this image. I had taken a few images in this area in the spring time on SFX and wanted a more direct comparison. These trees were physically burned and I liked that, and the way they were leaning, with the lighter area behind them.

3l

Since I was in the area I took some shots of the UFO spot. The stone (in the centre of the image) marks the site where forestry worker Bob Taylor encountered a UFO in 1979.

15l

The plaque on the marker stone has recently been replaced, having been stolen years ago.

11

Dechmont Law Peak.

10

View from the top of Dechmont Law.

I did also go on a trip to a wee graveyard in Bathgate which I’d always had in the back of my mind to photograph. As I was experimenting with infrared film I quite fancied going there to take a few photos and see how they turned out. The morning I went there was quite bright, and the light was really high contrast, but I liked it. Although even stopping down by a stop or two, and underexposing, some results were a bit on the bright side.

4l

Graveyard, Bathgate, West Lothian. (digital shot, taken with my Ricoh GR). I actually really like this one, even though it was more or less just a test/comparison shot.

2016-09-27_1

Rollei Superpan.

2016-09-27_5

Rollei Superpan.

2016-09-27_9

A home for the living, and a home for the dead.

6

Even when they are written in stone, the words will fade in time.

I still have one roll left…

Leave a Reply

