Winter Light

Over the last few days I have been trying, and not really succeeding, to take photographs for the Winter Light brief we’ve been given in class. I’ve tried some landscape shots, which don’t really work. I went into Edinburgh on Saturday morning, after a break in the dismal weather, looking for some nice high contrast stuff, which didn’t come to much either. This run of failure culminated with the torchlight procession in Edinburgh tonight. Me and fire festivals just do not seem to get along. It was hell. I was thwarted by the crowd, and the shots I did manage to get off just were not working.

Winter Light, Dechmont Law

Winter Light, Dechmont Law

The shot above could have been better. I think it’s far too dark really. It is an HDR but the exposures aren’t quite right. Although I do like the peaks of the Five Sisters peaking up into the light, in the middle right of the frame. A longer lens would have perhaps worked better here.

Torchlight Procession

Torchlight Procession

Torchlight Procession Fail

Torchlight Procession Fail

The above shot falls into the fail category as the exposure isn’t right and the composition is off, ideally I should have been in front of them as they marched, rather than trying to grab something from the sidelines.

I took a few street shots also, and one preliminary shot for the Higher Photography project earlier in the week.

Candy Floss

Candy Floss

Minions

Minions

Higher Project shot, Babelon Cafe, Edinburgh

Higher Project shot, Babelon Cafe, Edinburgh

2 thoughts on “Winter Light

    • I normally shoot in JPEG Fine, haven’t used RAW much, I don’t think my version of Photoshop handles it, and I don’t have Lightroom. I think I should have shot on auto last night, but the downside of that is the slower response of the camera in changing conditions/light etc.

Leave a Reply

